We go together like hockey and brunch.

I said this wouldn’t become a wedding-planning blog. And it still won’t. However, besides recovering from bronchitis, I haven’t really done much of substance in the last week besides stumble upon our first wedding decor purchase.

An entire box of trading cards from the 1990 NHL season. If you know me at all, you know these are perfect.

I only have instagrammed shots. Sorry.

The entire box (well, minus a few packs) was only $10. D and I officially have 535 trading cards to use for various decor. It was fate. We were visiting my parents for the weekend to celebrate my grandmother’s 80th birthday, and were sitting on the deck early on Saturday talking about various things. D mentioned that it might be fun (and cheap) to get old hockey trading cards to use as our seating cards, and I immediately got on board. Later that day we walked by a sports collectible store and decided to check it out, finding a lone box of NHL cards amongst the piles of NBA and MLB ones.

My heart skipped a beat when I found Super Joe.

I’m sure the guy didn’t expect to sell the whole box, but there you go. Being the excitable person I am, I was sure to tell him we would be using them for our wedding (and that it was the first purchase for said occasion, to boot!), and he said he was happy they were going to “a good cause”. I’m not sure what a bad cause would be when it comes to buying trading cards, but there you go.

So, have you ever attended a hockey-themed brunch wedding? I haven’t, but it seems like I’ll be having one, and I’m pretty thrilled.

Now I just need to figure out how to get names and table numbers (well, table names, if we use NHL trophies as titles) onto such dark backgrounds. I’m thinking punching a hole in the top corner and threading in a ribbon with the text on it, or maybe using a label-maker font on white paper and neatly covering up the bottom half. We’ll see. I have time.