A Weekend in Montreal – Part 1

This is the time of year I take vacation: some of my vacation days expire next month, so for the last few years I’ve tried taking a weekend away, followed by a staycation. Last year was Washington DC, this year I decided on Montreal.

I picked out a few microbreweries (that’s another post for another time!) and on Saturday D and I went to the Montreal Musee de Beaux Arts before walking up to the summit of Mont Royal. We made our way to the summit, which turned out to be nothing but a cell phone tower!

Lame.

D found us another path to head back to street-level, and we stopped at a different viewing point on the way to Belvédère Camillien-Houde. It was worth the short detour: when I turned around, he asked for my hand and put a ring on it.

HPIM4384

We waited for other tourists to show up so they could take a photo. They said “the lighting isn’t good here,” and my answer was, “it’s okay, I’ll just fix it up in Photoshop!”.

So, that was a pretty good day. Besides that, we toured Old Port and Old Montreal on Sunday, ate some poutine, got some maple gelato, and drank many delicious beers. All in all, a pretty good weekend.

 

4 thoughts on “A Weekend in Montreal – Part 1

Leave a Reply

