What I Wore Wednesday: Denim Day NYC

I don’t ever participate in “What I Wore Wednesday”. I’m not a fashion blogger, I don’t have a fancy camera, and I’m going to assume that no one cares what outfit I’m wearing on any given day.

However, today is different. Today, I’m participating in Denim Day NYC.

The history of Denim Day, as per their website:

Denim Day grew out of a 1998 Italian Supreme Court decision that overturned a rape conviction because the victim wore tight jeans. The judges reasoned the victim’s tight jeans meant that she had to have helped her assailant remove them, implying consent. People all over the world were outraged, and wearing jeans became an international symbol of protest against erroneous and destructive attitudes and myths surrounding sexual assault.

Peace Over Violence, a nonprofit organization in Los Angeles, led by Patti Giggans, organized the country’s first Denim Day event in 1999. Under POV’s leadership, Denim Day LA & USA has grown into a national movement. In 2011, more than 2 million Americans participated in Denim Day.

When one of our school counselors sent this information out via email, our office decided that we had to participate. With the exception of our Director, we’re all women, and this was an important cause to show solidarity for. The fact that we were given permission to wear nice jeans to work was a plus too.

There are so many women’s issues that seem to be out of the control of women themselves (our school is offering a course on “Current Issues in Women’s Health” next semester that makes me wish I was a student again), so it’s nice to be able to make a statement that sexual assault is not okay, and neither is blaming the victim.

Remember, blaming the victim is insulting to men too (or at least, it should be): it implies that their default behavior towards women is that they can’t control themselves, that their goal is to take advantage of the women they encounter, and that as women, we are simply making their jobs easier by wearing tight clothes, drinking excessively, or walking by ourselves at night.

So, are you celebrating Denim Day? If you can’t wear jeans during the day, put some on when you get home instead of changing right to those comfy clothes. Or break out that jean jacket that somehow never goes out of style.

Confession: I didn’t take a picture of what I wore (well, I did, but it came out poorly and I was running out to work). So, I Polyvore-d it instead. I hope y’all can forgive me.

Denim Day NYC

Calvin Klein cowl neck top / H&M blazer / MiH Jeans flared jeans / Acne snakeskin shoes / Seiko button jewelry

These are not the clothes I’m wearing, but they’re as close as I can get to the style. In real life, it’s Charter Club blazer, Express cowlneck, H&M jeans and Payless pumps. Goooo discount brands! Did you know it’s impossible to find flared jeans at H&M now? I only bought these a few years ago, and since they’re the most tailored/work-appropriate jeans I have, so what if they’re out of style?

2 thoughts on “What I Wore Wednesday: Denim Day NYC

    • Me too! I wear mine all the time, I’m bummed that once they’re on their way out, they’re going to be tough to replace.

      Welcome! I hadn’t heard of it either, I’m glad my colleague shared it with all of us.

Leave a Reply

