It’s Almost Cherry Blossom Time!

I don’t live near Washington DC, but I love me some cherry blossom trees. I went to DC with my family during the peak of the cherry blossom “season” when I was younger, and after that, I was smitten. I bought about ten thousand postcards with the tree on it, because when you’re in elementary school that’s about as far as your souvenir money will go.

Now that I’m older, I can go see the trees myself, no postcards required. Not in DC, but in the Brooklyn Botanic Gardens. And thanks to the wonders of technology, I don’t even have to play the “are they in bloom or aren’t they” game, because they have this neat Cherry Blossom Tracker each year.

bbg_cherries

CherryWatch as of yesterday afternoon.

Gosh, I love technology. You would think, with this handy tool, that if I only have one chance to get there during Cherry Blossom season, I’m going to wait until most of them are in peak bloom. Ha! That would mean I was a sensible person, which I’m not (always). No, last year I made the mistake of assuming that nature would cater to my needs. I had off on a Friday, so did the beau, so we brought food for a picnic, hoping the trees would be in bloom by then, and that maybe the CherryWatch was a load of bull and couldn’t be trusted.

Wrong. The Esplanade was full of trees that didn’t have a single blossom, and only one tree in the Japanese gardens was in bloom. Needless to say I will not be making that mistake again this year, and instead will be adding “check CherryWatch” to my list of daily tasks, waiting for that perfect moment to cough up my ten bucks and just sit and stare at the trees for a few hours.

bbg_cherries2

Sad Esplanade.

bbg_cherries3

Thank you, single Cherry Blossom Tree, for blooming in time for our visit.

I’m not one of those people that hates winter and looks for every sign of spring. However, I am one of those people that is sort of indifferent, leaning on the “meh” side towards winter, and the cherry trees are one of my favorite signs that the weather is warming up. Sometimes it’s even early enough in the year that I don’t need to wear sunscreen, bonus!

What is your favorite sign of spring? Has it happened yet?

2 thoughts on “It’s Almost Cherry Blossom Time!

  1. Pingback: pretty pink sign | Artsy Wanderer

Leave a Reply

