Words and Goings On

Is ganesh a word, asked the commanding officer, Yes, a word, which, like all the others, can only be explained by more words, but since the words we use to explain things, successfully or not, will, in turn, have to be explained, our conversation will lead nowhere, the mistaken and the true will alternate, like some kind of curse, and we’ll never know what’s right and what’s wrong.

The Elephant’s Journey, by José Saramago (translated from the original Portuguese by Margaret Jull Costa)

I’m reading that book right now, it’s pretty wonderful. José Saramago is a tremendous author and has such a way with words. I thought this was a good quote to share.

Other things I’m doing right now:

  • Freaking out internally about an apartment application that I put in and am waiting to hear back on.
  • Staring at my pink nails covered in 99c nail polish and being impressed that it looks better than a 99c manicure.
  • Making my way through the Brokelyn Beer Book, a beautiful coupon book good for 1 beer at 30 different bars.

    Beer book, and one dollar for tip.

  • Planning color schemes for the living room in the aforementioned apartment that isn’t actually mine yet.

    colorscheme

    The coral is just an accent color, don’t worry.

4 thoughts on “Words and Goings On

    • Yeahhh, I’m thinking more the sky blue for the paint color. I’m pretty sure my boyfriend is going to learn to hate any sentence that begins with “you know what I was thinking…” in the near future because it is probably going to involve things like coral accent pillows.

  1. Okay, I really want a beer book. That is just too good. Good luck with your apartment application! I guess it really would be nerve-wracking in NYC! Sheesh.

    • It is a beautiful thing. Even after buying another beer or so at the few bars I went to this weekend, it was still super cheap.

      And thanks! I am actually signing a lease today, whew! Nerve-wracking, but empowering at the same time.

Leave a Reply

