Little Victories

Everyone has that list of big things they hope to accomplish: landing their dream job, finding the perfect mate (not a perfect person, just perfect for them, of course), living in a nice space, etc. That’s all well and good, and everyone should strive for those things. I’m lucky to have a job I enjoy and a significant other I love very much…so now I just need to work on finding my dream home. That may take some time, but it will be worth the wait.

Since I’ve got some of those big things covered, I try to focus on the little victories. And when I say little, I mean little. Things like:

  • Making it through an entire week without realizing I forgot to buy something at the grocery store
  • Peeling an orange with the peel all in one piece
  • Finding a nice dress at the thrift store that needs little to no fixing up
  • Putting on nail polish and getting through a few days before it starts chipping

Those sorts of things just make my day. Perhaps that makes me simple, but I prefer to think of those things as reasons why you can almost always be optimistic. So there.

My little victory yesterday was pretty awesome. It featured a long time-commitment, and required me to not lose something I lose all the darn time: my chapstick.

Yes, friends, I managed to (for the first time in living memory) finish a chapstick* without losing it, melting it in the dryer, or it getting so old that I didn’t want to use it anymore.

As I threw out the now-empty plastic tube, I felt a sense of accomplishment, no matter how silly or small. Little victories!

Now, on to my next goal: finishing a three pack the same way. I don’t think it’s ever been done before in the history of mankind, but I’m willing to try. Anyone care to take a chapstick challenge with me?

Can we do it? Yes we can!

Can we do it? Yes we can!

*Ok, I guess it’s supposed to be called lip balm or something. I never call tissues “Kleenex”, but I’ll admit it, I say bandaids and chapstick. The crazy thing is, it isn’t even due to brand loyalty! My go-to for chapstick is usually Blistex! Oh well, can’t break the habit now…

5 thoughts on “Little Victories

  1. I used to lose things like chapsticks, pens, and hair ties CONSTANTLY. What’s helped for me is only having ONE of the item…I can’t bring myself to only having one pen or hair tie but with the chapstick I have one at a time and I make sure to move it from my purse to my desk to my night table, etc.

  2. I am SO impressed! Like, majorly. I have never made it through a chapstick. Ever. I think I need to make some of these smaller challenges for myself…and then reward myself for doing them! I feel like it would make life so much more gratifying.

Leave a Reply

