Penguin debuts their “Drop Cap” book series, and my wallet starts crying.

One of my goals in life is to have beautiful bookshelves. I want all of my books on there, the memoirs about the 1960 NFL Championship right alongside The Picture of Dorian Gray. I’ve not yet decided on that crucial piece though: how to organize them. By color? By genre? By last name? By when I read them? I guess I should wait to figure that out until I actually have the space in which to do so.

Anyway.

In September, Penguin Books announced that they would be putting out a special series of books called the “Drop Caps”. The drop cap is the fancily drawn letter that is first in a chapter, whether it’s calligraphy or an alternate form of typography. The books will be classics by various authors, and their last initial will be the drop cap featured on the front cover. The series will go from A-Z (of course), and will. be. in color order. So the first books are warm tones and move through from there. This is perfect.

They released the first six books in the series today:

A for Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice
B for Charlotte Brontë’s Jane Eyre
C for Willa Cather’s My Ántonia
D for Charles Dickens’ Great Expectations
E for George Eliot’s Middlemarch
F for Gustave Flaubert’s Madame Bovary (translation by Lydia Davis)

I own two of these and have read one more, but will most likely be purchasing all of them over again from this collection, because aren’t they beautiful?

201212_penguin_dropcaps3

The only problem? They’re each $20+. That’s a lot of dough to drop on books I already own. Also, they look like they may be hefty, and I’ve already got a bajillion pounds of books that I’m not looking forward to moving whenever I get a place of my own. But those are small qualms. I think that while my wallet is crying right now, it will get over it.

4 thoughts on “Penguin debuts their “Drop Cap” book series, and my wallet starts crying.

Leave a Reply

