Combat Colds with Cauliflower, Capisci?

I love a good alliteration. What I don’t love is that awful, sinking feeling you get when you realize a winter cold is upon you. I don’t get sick all that often in actual winter: I’m prone to colds in those times when the weather fluctuates so quickly day-to-day, it’s hard for the body to adjust. And so, what with a hurricane, a nor’easter, and now weather in the low 50s, here I am. Sniffle sniffle.

However, I have a lot going on this weekend and I’m determined not to let this dang cold slow me down. So last night I did the only thing I could (since I smartly left my entire supply of cold medicine in my desk at work): cooked up a dinner that will (hopefully) combat this cold before it gets much worse.

Garlic and cauliflower. Roasted. Soup. Heaven.

I had some Emergen-C first, but since that stuff is nasty and not my preferred way to go, I’m skimming over that in favor of the comfort food. I mean, I guess Emergen-C works, because I keep taking it, it’s just sort of awful tasting. And yes, I’m aware that there is such a thing as too much Vitamin C, and that after you’ve reached your capacity it just stops absorbing, but I’m willing to risk it.

Don’t you love roasted vegetables?

I based my soup on this recipe*, with a few modifications. For one, I don’t have “Herbes de Provence” on hand, but I looked it up on trusty wikipedia and figured I could replicate it closely enough. Alas, my spice rack is a bit lacking, so I just used a bit of cumin and rosemary instead. I think it worked quite nicely.

Reasons you should make this the next time you have a cold:

1) It’s easy. It’s a bit of sitting around and waiting (for the vegetables to roast, then for the soup to simmer), but in terms of the list of ingredients, prep time, and “how-badly-can-you-mess-it-up” factor, it’s great.

2) Garlic is good for you. It can boost your immune system, acts as an antioxidant, and may help protect against certain cancers. And since you’re roasting it, while the flavor is still there, it isn’t as potent as some other dishes. As far as I can tell, I don’t smell like garlic today (but then again, my sense of smell is severely lacking right now).

3) Cauliflower has a ton of Vitamin C. One serving isn’t enough to cover your daily recommended dose, but if you want your vitamins from natural sources but don’t feel like downing a gallon of orange juice, this is the veggie for you.

Finished soup with a garnish of fresh thyme, ready for my belly.

So click the recipe*, print, cook. It’s really tasty and is pretty darn good for you.

*The website appears to be down right now (or at least it is for me). If it isn’t working, here’s a quick version: chop off the top of your garlic, drizzle with olive oil and wrap in foil. Toss cauliflower cut into florets with 2 tsp oil, put in pan. Put both in preheated 425 degree oven for 40 minutes. Let garlic cool, put a medium onion’s worth of diced onion into a pot with oil til translucent. Throw in the cauliflower, herbs, and garlic pressed out of it’s skins along with 4 cups of water and bouillon cube and let simmer for 30 min. Blend with immersion blender or in batches in a regular blender. Enjoy. Obviously the recipe explains these things better.

2 thoughts on “Combat Colds with Cauliflower, Capisci?

  1. Pingback: Spiced, Roasted Cauliflower « Putney Farm
  2. Pingback: Spiced Roasted Cauliflower « Stephy K.

Leave a Reply

