Sandymath: Prospect Park

I didn’t anticipate taking a week between posts, but here we are. I’ll blame lingering internet issues (which, interestingly, had nothing to do with the storm that ravaged the city), some busy days at work, and a lack of motivation to sit at the computer for any longer than I need to.

That being said, I wanted to share the pictures I took of Prospect Park this past weekend. I ventured into the park just one day after Irene last year, when they had lost a fair amount of trees, and took a few shots then. This time around, the parks weren’t even open until last Friday, four full days after the storm had hit, and it was much, much worse.

I was proud to participate in their 5K walk on Saturday, their third (and my third). This year, all of the money is going to recovering from Sandy. However, they raised a lot more than I think even they anticipated ($50,000+!), so I do hope that they distribute some of that money to other local charities and to families that really need it. Prospect Park is important to me, and I want it back on it’s feet as quickly as possible, but I admit that there are more dire situations even in my own borough that need help before trees are replanted.

I have a confession: we didn’t finish the walk. Instead, we took a break in the middle to help clean the park. We knew we were going to, and wore glorious “clothes you’re willing to get dirty” ensembles to do the walk (in comparison to the legitimate runners that showed up for the 5K run directly before the walk, we looked like bums). It was nice taking a few hours to help, and I’m looking forward to going back and helping again.

Rather than rambling I’ll just let the pictures speak for themselves. I’ve had a lot of good memories in this park and am anxious for it to be restored to it’s glory for the enjoyment of Brooklynites.

After all that, though, Prospect Park is still beautiful:

Thanks for reading. If you are interested in donating to any of the (many) worthy causes supporting Sandy recovery right now, here are some local charities which with to do so (this isn’t an exhaustive list, of course, but it’s some of the more prominent ones).

6 thoughts on “Sandymath: Prospect Park

  1. Great photos. The devastation is just amazing. It’s easy to forget, even living in the city, that so many are still suffering. Thanks for sharing!

    • I know, I feel so sheltered because I (thankfully) didn’t lose power or my home, but watching the news I can’t believe that so many people are still so put out almost two weeks later!

    • I’ve been meaning to get to Central Park! It’s close enough to my work that I can get there during lunch but I almost don’t want to go and check it out.

Leave a Reply

