Rory Gilmore Read a Ton of Books

I stumbled across a list of all of the books read or mentioned by Rory Gilmore during the entire run of Gilmore Girls. It was one of my favorite shows in high school, and I still watch repeats, although I suppose I’ve gotten old enough where I need to qualify that statement with “as a guilty pleasure”. But not really, I liked the Lorelais. I loved Emily Gilmore. Darn it, I enjoyed almost every episode of that show and I’m not ashamed to say it!

On the same website a few people were trying to keep track of how many of those books they had read. I’ll spare you the pain of scrolling through whole list on this site by just linking to it, but I thought it might be fun to go through and see how many of the three hundred and forty books mentioned were ones that I had also read. Not that I assumed I was unique in this respect, searching Rory Gilmore on Goodreads returns an entire list of books compiled by others doing the exact same thing. So, I’m not the most original person in the world, it’s all good.

On a sidenote: there were 153 episodes of the show, which equals an average of 2.2 books mentioned per episode. That’s pretty good. I would imagine that, in comparison, a show like Family Guy has probably mentioned about two books total in it’s entire run. Of course that’s an exaggeration, but in terms of a bookophile’s dream, not many shows can top GG and not many can fall below FG. I just dislike Peter Griffin, okay? I think he’s a pretty irredeemable character and it disgusts me how he treats his daughter. But I digress.

Oh hey Rory, what are you reading?

After going through the list, I’ve only read 45 of the 340. Sad. I mean, there are a fair amount on that list that I never plan on reading (I’m looking at you, Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood). But of course, it wouldn’t be a good list of books if I didn’t walk away adding at least a few more books to my to-read pile:

Ella Minnow Pea, by Mark Dunn

Stiff: The Curious Life of Human Cadavers, by Mary Roach

The Name of the Rose, by Umberto Eco (this one has popped up so many places, but I’ll give Rory credit for finally convincing me to add it)

Don’t worry, though, I won’t make notes in my books, and I won’t lend them to Jess Mariano (of course I was a Rory/Jess fan, although I didn’t mind Logan either).

Also, I think I’ve only talked about books for the last week or so. I promise soon I will start gushing about my new job, or at the very least provide an update about other things (zero clothes bought! gym membership still going strong!).

Leave a Reply

