Out of the Loop – Wearing Stockings

So this post will seem incredibly random, that’s fine. You can ignore it, if you want, but I was reading a blog and they got on the topic of wearing stockings. A robust conversation followed, and almost everyone said “No. Don’t Wear Stockings. Ever”.

Wait, seriously?

I follow fashion blogs, I know they don’t wear stockings, but I just assumed that other people still did. Now I’m feeling out of the loop. Light years away from the loop, in fact. Really, stockings are fuddy-duddy now? They’re reserved for young girls in Easter dresses and old ladies? I’m pale, I have a dash or two of varicose veins, what am I supposed to do when I’m wearing skirts? In the winter, when it’s cold? Surely I can’t just let my legs do their own thing, they need some coverage.

Wait, so Cyd Charisse wouldn’t be cool now?

Are nude tights okay? Patterned tights? Fishnets? Do I need to stick to strictly colored tights? Or black tights? I mean, I have those. I also have leggings, but I don’t know, I think my legs look fine in stockings, sometimes the opaqueness of tights throws me off. Sure, they’re not the most comfortable things in the world, but when has fashion decided that comfort was the top priority?

Do corporate women not wear stockings? Are stockings as much the mark of a frumpy middle-aged woman as sneaker and dress pants at this point?

Inquiring minds need to know. The weather is getting warmer and I need to figure out my wardrobe, people.

2 thoughts on “Out of the Loop – Wearing Stockings

    • I have colored stockings too! I mean, I think they’re stockings, they’re not opague enough to be tights. I’m hoping this whole “no stockings thing” really just means no nude ones, and that colorful ones are ok :).

Leave a Reply

