The Great Room Redo: Phase One Complete

As I laid out the outward-facing pieces of my dressers on my beau’s roof to start applying polyurethane, I was sure something would go awry. It would rain overnight and our hard work would go for naught as the wood became useless. The pieces would stick together as we put them back in their respective boxes and I wouldn’t be able to separate them when I unloaded them at my apartment. I’d mess up the instructions to the point of no return.

Fortunately, none of these many hypothetical situations occurred. My crazy plan of roof-crafting, piece-numbering, livery-cab hailing and lots and lost of schlepping somehow worked exactly as I’d planned. And here I am, on the other side of my September 1st “moving date” (if you can call moving from one room down the hallway to another a move), dressers in place and looking fresh.

The Ikea Warehouse: Heaven in Boxes.

If I’ve got to polyurethane all of these pieces, at least I get a nice view.

Making progress: I assembled this nightstand all by myself. Boom.

 

The Before: An empty room full of promise.

 

The After.

I’ve still got a long way to go. I’m picking up my reading table from my parent’s house this upcoming weekend. With any luck, my second bookshelf and a small area rug will be making the trek back with me as well (I need to take advantage of the trunk of a car while I can!). Things are still scattered about my room as I try to figure out the perfect place to put them, but I’ve given myself until the end of the month, and I think that’s a timeline I can handle.

Later this week I’m going to post about Sunday’s project: my gallery wall. It involves picture frames, vintage postcards, and lots of frame mounting hardware. Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

