The District of Many Monuments

I went to Washington DC two weekends ago because I had a few days off and hadn’t been there since high school. Possibly since before high school, but I can’t for the life of me remember the last time, and my mom wasn’t available to dig through her desk drawer of old calendars.

I loved it. Living in New York City, I’ve just grown accustomed to being able to get anywhere, anytime, just by the power of my own two legs or with the help of an underground train. Because of this absolute dependence on walking (I don’t ride bikes, I don’t know how to drive), I had planned a ton of walking in the hopes that my beau would go along with it. He did, and it was great.

Hello from DC!

We made it there just in time for our scheduled tour of the Capitol, but that was only due to the help of cabs (darn it! Didn’t I just say I like walking?). After that, we walked through a few museums that were nice enough to have extended hours in the summer, and traveled through the National Gallery of Art Sculpture Garden before we trekked to the Washington Monument to wrap up our sightseeing for the day.

I’m a sucker for good vintage signs.

Like I said, I hadn’t been to DC in awhile. I hadn’t been there since my diet consisted mostly of chicken fingers. I’ve made an effort during the last few trips I’ve taken to try some nicer restaurants, skipping food courts in favor of sit-down meals. To make up for the cost, the beau and I didn’t venture out for breakfast: complimentary coffee in the lounge and a fridge in the room stocked with yogurt and fruit were enough to get us going. So, since we wanted to sit down somewhere, we broke out the trusty new smartphones and looked for cuisine that was highly rated on Yelp and also within a short distance of our hotel and the bar we wanted to go to afterwards.

I’m pretty sure the last time I went this beauty was in scaffolding, and this time she’s closed to visitors from Hurricane Irene damage, sigh.

After a delicious Italian dinner, we headed to the pool for a bit before it closed, and then I was determined to find some craft beer in the District. If we’re going to go out, we’re going for a good beer selection, not fancy cocktails or a frat party atmosphere. Luckily our hotel was near Iron Horse, which had a nice low-key vibe but also a fair draft selection. I felt right at home, watching the Olympic opening ceremonies at a bar in our nation’s capital. It was a pretty perfect first day.

Since I’m too wordy for my own good, the rest of the weekend will have to wait for another post.

Leave a Reply

