That Time I Raided the B&N Virtual Bargain Bin…

I’m on a lot of mailing lists, which means that most emails in my inbox I immediately mark as read and archive without giving them a second look. Barnes & Noble, I’ll give you credit, the words “90% off” got me, and I found myself on your website.

An hour later, I am the proud owner of 9 new books. Do I need more books? Of course not, but they were $28 total (including free shipping!), so how could you pass that kind of deal up?

I used to love perusing the bargain book section of the Barnes and Noble near my house. I think this love of a good deal was a big reason as to why I started gravitating towards nonfiction books: those were always the best pickings in the $3.99 or less section. Perusing the virtual bargain books shelves on their website brought back memories, although flipping through search results isn’t exactly the same as walking slowly through the aisle, but it’s close enough.

My haul, in no particular order other than semi-alphabetical based on file names. Most (if not all) of them are publishers’ “remainders” copies, meaning that I’ll have to deal with a mark on the page edges or a sticker, but for these prices, I can deal.

To answer the question no one was asking, none of these books were already on my already long list of to-read books. I think I’m now upwards of sixty books on that hefty list. Oops. If collecting books is some sort of disease, it’s an illness I’ll gladly suffer from.

And in textual format (links are to B&N in case you want to get the same great deal. And no, I don’t monetize my blog, I receive no benefit from linking anywhere):

  1. The Bicycle Diaries, by David Byrne
  2. A Covert Affair, by Jennet Conant
  3. The Elephant’s Journey, by Jose Saramago
  4. The Glory Game, by Frank Gifford
  5. Mutiny on the Bounty, by Charles Nordhoff
  6. The Art of the Personal Letter*, by Margaret Shepherd
  7. The Solitude of Prime Numbers, by Paolo Giordano
  8. Sacred Games, by Vikram Chandra
  9. Sunnyside, by Glen David Gold

…now I just have to hope that, if they all come in one box, I can schlepp it up the stairs to my apartment without being that person that bumps the wall and makes grunting noises.

* This one was the last one I put in my cart, and I bought it partly out of curiosity but mostly out of the need to get my cart past the “$25 for free shipping” plateau. According to trusty Goodreads members, it’s not a life-changing book that will inspire you to write long-hand letters to friends, but maybe it will for me. I’ll have to work on my handwriting first.

Leave a Reply

