SongBook – Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy

Will this be a running theme? Maybe, if I continue to get songs stuck in my head whilst reading books. I previously mentioned that, while reading Scaramouche, I couldn’t get Queen’s Bohemian Rhapsody out of my head. Can you blame me? Would you have had the same problem? I think so.

I experienced a similar musical moment with the book I finished last night: Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy.

I wanted to read the book before I saw the movie, because that’s just what I do. Not so I can say “oh, the book was so much better”, but because I naturally gravitate towards the written word more so than film anyway. And I had heard that the movie is a bit convoluted, so I was hoping to gain some clarity through the novel first.

It was a race against time: Gary Oldman’s face was staring at me from the book cover, and from his spot at 2nd place in the queue on my Netflix.

(Yes, I know you can change things around in your queue, I’m trying to build a sense of intrigue! It’s a spy novel!)

I still found the book confusing, but I’ll chalk it up to the fact that I’m not an expert on espionage or Cold War politics. The author wrote an introduction where he mentions that he wasn’t sure if the story would still be relevant or interesting in today’s single-superpower world, but I still found myself interested enough to risk removing my hand from its grip on the subway pole to turn the pages. Could I relate to the paranoia and East/West relations? Not really, but at its heart it’s still a story about one man trying to find the truth, which is a timeless theme.

I was talking about a song, though, right? I got distracted by Gary Oldman’s face again. Go read the book though.

The song I had stuck in my head is aptly titled “Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Sailor”. Call me dumb, but I had to do some research to realize that this catchy little sentence was part of a nursery rhyme. I figured it had to be something, I had just never heard the rhyme before. Since I’ve been humming it to myself this past week, I wanted to share it so y’all could hum along with me.

But here are The Yardbirds singing about Gary Oldman a catchy nursery rhyme. In case that didn’t hook you, Jimmy Page is their guitarist at this point, so yeah.

One thought on “SongBook – Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy

  1. Pingback: Oldman singing | Abcstrings

Leave a Reply

