As my peanut butter looks on wistfully…

I’m a PBJ kind of gal. I joke that my lunch at work is akin to a ten-year-olds: a peanut butter sandwich (sometimes with jelly), a piece of fruit, and a little snack. Sometimes it’s chips or carrots, but most often it’s a Little Debbie Oatmeal Cream Pie.

Considering that I try to be a little more adventurous with my dinners, why not my lunch? Convenience, mostly. I make my lunch in the morning as I’m wolfing down a cup of yogurt and just doing general get-ready things. I don’t give myself extra time to make a fresh salad or to chop things. I give myself enough time to slather peanut butter and jelly on some bread, and to grab fruit and a snack to throw in as I leave the kitchen. My commute is already an hour, I don’t want to wake up any earlier than I need to.

I had my “duh” moment yesterday, when I realized that if I prep different spreads beforehand, making my sandwiches in the morning won’t take any longer than usual, but I can take the opportunity to try new things. Much like I put together most of my blog posts a day or week before, I can just do the same thing with sandwiches. Lightbulb!

So, jar of peanut butter, I apologize in advance. When I open my cabinet and grab a loaf of bread while you remain on the shelf, it’s nothing personal. We’ve had a pretty good relationship for 25 years, I think we can handle a short hiatus. It might even be good for us.

One of the sandwiches I’m excited to try is below. I have semi-specific requirements, which made this food hunt a bit difficult: I’m looking for spreadable things (not wanting to assemble a precarious pile of lettuce or meticulous layers of veggies), and nothing with more than three or four ingredients besides the bread. In addition, not much cooking (I don’t want mushy sandwich fixins by the next day’s lunchtime), and nothing that needs reheating. And no mayo, I hate mayo.

This guy meets all of my rigorous standards:

From Joanne Eats Well With Others

Gingered pea tea sandwiches with ricotta. Super easy (peas, oil, ginger, mint, salt/pepper, ricotta), and really fresh looking. I bought a bag of frozen garden peas recently, thinking maybe I would use them. I don’t like peas cooked, but I think I can handle thawed, cold, fresh-tasting peas on a sandwich. And I just love ricotta. This will be more than easy enough to smear on a slice of bread in the morning.

I’ll let you know how it turns out!

2 thoughts on “As my peanut butter looks on wistfully…

Leave a Reply

