Sixteen Years of Sisters – An Update

It’s been about two weeks since I first posted about my sister’s birthday present. I said I would post periodic updates, so here you are!

This whole scrapbooking thing is slow going. Not because I don’t enjoy it, but just because I have so many other things going on. And often, when I get home, the last thing I want to do is stare at a computer some more. But I made some headway on a particularly dull weekend (there is only so much homework you can do in one stretch!), so now I’m about 20 pages in. More importantly, I went through and edited (almost) all of the photos I want to use. Stupidly, I forgot that I have some saved on my own computer, beyond the ones that I scanned and grabbed from my family’s computer a few weeks ago. So those aren’t edited yet, but close enough.

Some cringeworthy hair.

I can’t speak highly enough of scripts. Between one particular action and a few minor adjustments of my own, I automated my photo editing. It took my computer about 20 minutes to get through all of my photos, but in that time I was able to walk away, make and eat a sandwich, and clean my dishes. Sweet. After that, I organized my files by type (Christmas, vacations, random, etc), for easy grouping. Rather than trying to figure out every picture chronologically, I thought it would be easier to just batch them in the book by theme.

My awkward phase perfectly corresponds with my sister’s entire childhood. Fab.

Because my pictures are so varied with lighting and quality, I decided to do them all black and white with a little bit of added distress. I’ve done that for one previous project and I liked how it made the pictures look uniform, whether they were taken 15 years ago on a point-and-shoot camera with film, or taken earlier this year on a nicer digital camera. And since the kit I’m using has some bright oranges and blues, I didn’t want any crazy color clashing.

The cover. It’s simple, but that’s just my thing.

This is the cover. It’s incredibly simple, but that’s my thing!

My goal is to have this project finished by next weekend. I’m going to be cutting it close, but I don’t really want to spend the extra money getting expedited shipping if I don’t have to. Fingers crossed!

Credit where it’s due: Papers and elements by Paislee Press and One Little Bird in their For the Record collection.

Leave a Reply

