Citrus Accomplished

Today I did something I have never done in the first 25 (admittedly uneventful) years of my life. Something that, until the moment at which I did it, I thought to be impossible. I admired those who had already accomplished the feat, jealous of their skills. I just chalked it up as one of those things I’d never be able to do: write legibly with my right hand (I’m a lefty), write legibly with my left hand (I just have sloppy handwriting), and root for the Philadelphia Eagles.

Today, my friends, I peeled an orange with a single peel. Well, it was a tangelo, so perhaps it doesn’t count, especially since Wikipedia informs me that they’re easier to peel than oranges anyway. But for me? A small victory, because it’s the little things in life, isn’t it? Yes, yes it is.

Hooray!

Pay no attention to that little bit smack dab in the middle. It’s just a piece of the orange, not an extra bit of peel.

Because I don’t have an Instagram-able phone and am at a Photoshop-less computer, I had to document (and attempt to prettify) this the old-fashioned way:

  1. Take picture on cell phone
  2. Send downsized version of picture to own email address
  3. Download to work computer and attempt to fix up

Whew, exhausting. Notably more exhausting than actually peeling the fruit. But on a hot day where I spent most of my summer-hour-shortened-lunch break running errands and pounding the melty pavement, it was so lovely to come back and have a good piece of in-season fruit.

I usually leave my citrus out on a shelf at home, but when I bring it to work I put it in the fridge so it’s nice and cold when I get around to eating it, which I think makes the juice significantly better. Do it, grab yourself a tangelo (you’ll know what it is by the little nub on one end) and start eating!

3 thoughts on “Citrus Accomplished

  1. Congratulations! Always makes me think of Sleepless in Seattle, when Tom Hanks talks about his late wife and says she could peel an apple in one long peeling. :)

Leave a Reply

